IGNORED

I want to learn!

yabadabapal

I spend most days between, solving problems, inevitably inventing

and sitting at the piano. And of course reading about motorcycles.

There are so many super duper smart people on this forum,

I wanted to ask if you could direct me.

I would like to understand HTML, XHTML, Ruby on rails, and

programming in general. Do you know of any preferred forums and

books that might be of an educational introductory nature for

me to start with. Im a beginner and I thought this would be fun

for entertainment purposes. Thanks and happy 2011 to all of you.

Francois_Dumas

I learned programming some 35+ years ago, so am not the person to direct you anymore ion this modern day and age. But I found that some of the 'Dummy' books were really useful to get me started on some new products and techniques over the years.

I learned HTML (actually, using Dreamweaver) from a book of the series of 'learn ..... xxxx in 24 hours' many years ago and I found it very clear and helpful.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Teach-Yourself-Adobe-Dreamweaver-Hours/dp/0672330407

Have something in mind when you pick up one of the books so the knowledge you gain is applied quickly and not merely a nice to have thing