IGNORED

DADT repealed

Fubar

The Senate voted 65-31 to repeal the 17 year old, and controversial, "Don't ask, Don't tell" policy today. Since the House already passed it, the last step is for the President to sign it.

As ex-military, I am personally glad to see this happen though I can understand if others are less than pleased. Thoughts (within the rules of course )?

I'm a retired military officer, and I think it was the right thing to do. It always struck me as an extraneous factor that had nothing to do with one's ability to perform.

Others may disagree, but, still right thing to do. Anybody willing to fight and die for the country should be allowed to do so.

Retired military here also.

It is about time if I say so myself. I think that we will look back on this much the same way that we look at the integration of the U.S. military back in 1947 and wonder why we did not do it earlier. The right thing to do then and now.

Not a veteran, but a Navy brat whose dad served 23 years. I am sure he would agree with this as well if he were still alive.

My son is active duty. He and his squadron have concerns and reservations about it. He thinks it may cause problems in deployed areas with open latrines and bathing. He feels this is a personnel policy issue that should be decided by the military for the military.

My rhetorical question of the day.

How will transgender soldiers be accommodated?