IGNORED

97 rtp with surge issues

Copless-rtp

Hi everyone, this is my first , and long awaited, BMW. I traded straight across for my v star 650.....did I mention I was very happy? Anyway being a newbie, I have done as much research as I can. So now I need help. It has 56k miles on it and it hesitates or surges in the lower gears at lower rpm's. Not as noticeable at freeway speeds. I have read " fuel filter, fuel filter, fuel filter" but have also read sync the TB's. I plan on taking it apart over the winter to address some other issues. Did I mention it has an ABS fault on key up? I mentioned before. I am very happy.....at least for now.

Thanks for all the help

Plugs to APP or AP3923 (AP=Platinum Electrode, APP=Platinum Anode & Electrode) Valves on the "loose side", plus the TBS, and TPS check/adjust. ABS could be a sensor. Fuel filter/strainer may be suspect, renew/air filter/renew. Keeping the "rev's" up will help mask the surging, yet it's an inherent issue with this/these model year machines.**NOTE** Replace the HES NOW!! and carry a spare (plus the tools/know how) to replace it.

Another **NOTE**--should the machine tip/fall over to the throttle (right) side while running (and perhaps not), DO NOT TRY TO START IT..till you pull the plugs and turn it over to evacuate the oil that will fill the cylinder/and air box. If you Don't do this, it will HydroLock, grenading the starter and strand you while you wonder WTF just happened.

"Happy" is a relative term, you are now a mechanic/troubleshooter.

P.S. welcome to the world of BMW "happiness".............

With regard to your bike surging. You have covered what you need to do first.

Do you have any form of after market fuel control unit fitted (techlusion / power commander)? if so it may be worth initially disconnecting it and checking all the base settings of the bike are top notch.