IGNORED

2009 1200RT Valve Clearance Adjustments

49Rooster

I'm new to BMW's AND mechanically challenged!!!!

Can anyone tell me why it is necessary to perform valve clearance adjustments every 6,000 miles on a 09 1200RT???? Bought it new & have approx 13k---rather ride than wrench---dealer is performing the service so I don't have warranty issues---my wife says this BMW stuff is getting damn expensive!!!

If you guys get too technical I will have to get my youngest son to explain your replies to his challenged father.

Rooster

Let me take a crack at this.... others correct me if I am wrong.

The engine does not have hydraulic valve lifters (like cars) which are self adjusting. Thus, the adjustments must be made manually. The adjustments are needed since, as the engine breaks in, the edges of the valves flare slightly as they become mated with the valve seats. This results in a slightly longer total valve length which narrows the gap between the end of the valve stem and the rocker arm. This gap must be restored and is the reason for the periodic adjustment. Once the engine is broken in there may be no adjustment needed but should still be checked.

Hey 49... by the way... my 2005 RT, same as yours- motor-wise... was not broken in till something past 18k miles... valves were finding their "happy spot" (sorry for the technical term).

I'm new to BMW's AND mechanically challenged!!!!

Can anyone tell me why it is necessary to perform valve clearance adjustments every 6,000 miles on a 09 1200RT???? Bought it new & have approx 13k---rather ride than wrench---dealer is performing the service so I don't have warranty issues---my wife says this BMW stuff is getting damn expensive!!!

If you guys get too technical I will have to get my youngest son to explain your replies to his challenged father.

Rooster