IGNORED

iPhone or HTC Fuze

tbloomq

Hi All, Just getting to the end of contract life with my Cingular 8525. I am looking at a new smartphone. Either a iPhone or HTC Fuze. I do use the device for my corporate email and expect to have the same application running on either device.

Does anyone have experience with the Fuze and might have a suggestion on which one is best? So far, I am leaning towards the Fuze since it actually has a keyboard.

Thanks, Tom

I personally don't care for the iPhone, particularly as a corporate device. (Disclaimer: I work in IT Security, so supposed "control" corporate data, and monitor devices that access our network).

Apple has excellent software/compatibility, as long as you're working with other Apple products. I've read of people having significant problems making the iPhone work w/ corporate systems. My experience has been that it's very easy to make it work with simple, insecure systems; and pretty difficult to make it work securely with (internal) Exchange.

I don't like Safari (the browser), and I didn't care for the soft-keyboard. Open disclosure: I've had a Treo for 8+ years, a 700P now with a thumb-keyboard. Maybe if I used the iPhone longer, I'd get used to the keyboard.

Good luck.

I spent all last week on vacation with one of my friends who has an iPhone. I'll bet I logged at least an hour or two a day screwing around with it in between skiing and beers. It is awesome as a phone or a gadget for scewing around and playing games, but I could never imagine trying to use it a business atmosphere. Considering how much we use our smart phones at work, I would be seriously surprised if the iPhone would even survive a whole day at the office without being plugged in. The drain on the battery was just jaw dropping. You can visualy watch the battery meter drop as you use it.