IGNORED

Heated Grip Failure

Leevis

Hi All

I have had a look but cant find anything on this.

My left side stock heated grip is not working any more :( Is there a likely cause of this that a complete novice could fix?

Any advice greatly appreciated

Its an 03 R1150RT

Lee

One thing i have forgotten to mention. It is only the left hand side grip that is not heating up. The right one is fine. I dont know if they are on seperate fuses or anything.

Lee

Hi All

My left side stock heated grip is not working any more :( Is there a likely cause of this that a complete novice could fix?

Its an 03 R1150RT

Lee

Lee, difficult to trouble shoot over the internet..

They usually break the wire right at the grip heater but there could be an open about anywhere past the switch connectors & after wire side split..

I guess the place to start is to follow the L/H heated grip wire back to the connector then use a voltmeter & look for power there with the grips on.. If OK then isolate the problem side grip wires,, then use an ohmmeter on those to see if you have continuity in the heater,, if not look for an open in the wires or right at the grip heater itself.. Pretty difficult to access the grip heater without destroying the rubber grip cover though..

Twisty

Lone_RT_rider

I also had the same issue with my heated grips on my 1999 R1100RT with the left grip becoming non-functional and the other grip working "ok". On the older and higher milaege bikes with the switches on the dashboard such as the R1100RT they tend to get a bit of water intrusion over time. At the factory when they are first installed they do put a bit of grease on the contacts to try to help this, but over time corrosion still tends to get into the switch.