IGNORED

04 RT Servo Brake Failure Warning?

SAMSAR

In the past several months, I have seen my brake failure light come on 3 different times while at the same stop light and I'm not sure what's causing this. Here is the Scenario...

The morning commute is 76 miles of which nearly all of it is highway. At the end of my exit off-ramp, there is a stop light which is generally Red. After coming to a complete stop, my Brake Failure light comes on and, understandably, my front brake becomes harder to pull. When I continue on my way, the light goes off similar to what we experience when starting the bike and it doesn't happen again.

My current bike is a 2004 RT with 15K and brake fluid was changed by me in springtime at 7K. Fluid levels and brake pads are fine and within specs. I've been doing this service for the past several years with no problems.

Assuming there isn't any sort of Servo Bermuda Triangle at this stoplight, does anyone have thoughts on what is causing this???

Thanks!

Paul

Paul, what is the warning light(s) doing (flashing,, or steady,, etc) that can tell us a lot by how the light flashes & what lights are on..

Your situation sort of sounds possibly like a low voltage situation.. Are you riding with a lot of extra lights or heated gear on? If so try turning those off a few miles before you exit the hi-way to see if that makes a difference..

Also on the 04 bike try only using your rear brake pedal at the light or both ft/rr but once stopped transfer to the rear pedal only.. That should allow pump shut down & less battery drain while sitting at the light..

Twisty

Thanks Twisty,

Only light is Brake Failure... I'm not positive, but believe it is steady. I'll watch more carefully next time for confirmation.