IGNORED

New(ish) Rider Intro

undfined

Hello all.

I am the lucky recipient of my Father's Red 1996 BMW R1100RT with a whopping 9707 miles on it.

I grew up riding in the dirt north of Phoenix but spent the last 10 years in Colorado without a bike. I recently moved back to Phoenix (for work). My dad was in the midst of ridding himself of his bikes (save his restored '46 Indian) so I jumped at the chance to take the RT from him.

I took the MSF Basic Rider Course and got my endorsement last month. For the last 3 weeks I have been commuting to work on the bike and have done 1 road trip out to Fountain Hills. I've put on about 250 miles. Not much to brag about. But enough to scare myself.

I spent yesterday afternoon at the book store and came home with a couple books on riding technique and safety. I can't stop thinking about the topics I've read so far. I'm also a licensed Private Pilot and am fixated on not killing myself.

On my trip to Fountain Hills I couldn't notice the Adopt a Highway signs dedicated to dead motorcyclists. Nor could I overlook the obituary section of this forum...

Not to be grim, but I am only 29 with a wife & 2 great kids.

In my limited street experience I have really only realized 2 things:

1.) The rider course IS useful.

2.) Everyone on the road IS TRYING TO KILL YOU.

Therefore:

1.) Learn more and 2.) expand the distance between self and others when and as often as possible.

And for &*(%'s sake: LOOK!

I'm hoping my paranoia keeps me safe but I tend to drift in thought a lot. It's fine in work as a financial analyst but I'm not so sure on the road. So I'm taking it slow.

Anyways, This is my "Hello." I mentioned the beautiful wife, kids and job. I also am a musician (bass guitar, guitar, & drums) and a BMW 2000 M5 owner.