IGNORED

Old Newbie

DrMikey

Been lurking for awhile. Thought I'd post an intro. I also frequent STN.net and IBMWR.

I've been riding BMW's for 23 years, sport touring for almost as long. Had an airhead RT back in the nineties. Spent a few years on a an R11GS, then a couple more on an R1100R. For the past 4, I've been riding a K12RS. Love my K, but due to issues with my neck, I'm thinking about going back to an RT. I like the look of the 1150, but realize the 1200 is more powerful. That said, the 1100's had more than enough power to get in trouble. Rode a friend's R11RT and it was a good fit; the way I understand it, the ergos are unchanged on the 1150.

Who here has owned both the 1150RT and the R12RT? How big is the difference?

I haven't owned either, but I've ridden both. The difference between the 1100 and 1150 isn't nearly as significant as the difference between the 1150 and 1200. I think the 1150 was actually a step backward in some ways (gearing, brakes, looks) with a few good improvements (lighting, wheel size, power).

I'm really impressed with the 1200 RT.

I think you will find the ergs about the same on the 1150 and 1200 even though they look different. The 12 is lighter and easier to handle in a parking lot but on the hwy, it feels about the same but a little more power. The "real" cruise control on the 12 was a major improvement. I've done iron butts on both so this is based on real experience. Welcome aboard and good luck,

Dick_at_Lake_Tahoe_NV

If you plan longer rides, you'll really like the real cruise control on the R1200RT. Also, the ability to adjust "Comfort, Sport, Normal" on the fly is nice. And one of the other improvements is that the R1200RT doesn't surge--that used to bother me on my '97 R1100RT and on my '02 R1150RT.