IGNORED

Leather v Fabric

UKTN

In the Winter, I ride with a leather jacket, heavy pants and boots. In the Summer, I ride in a mesh jacket, heavy pants and boots. At the track, I ride with full leathers, regardless of the season. I could give a damn about being "more BMW."

I was wondering how many people ride in leather jackets,pants etc, or is it more BMW to ride in the man made fabric gear?

UKTN, where I come from it is more Harley to worry about WHAT you wear,, it is more BMW to ride-the-wheels off the bike & not care what you wear..

Twisty

To each his own.

I ride in fabric gear because there are more choices for color, mesh, liners, hi viz, venting, washability etc.. Fabric is also lighter. There is also the kevlar option that I have for pants that is more abrasion resistant than leather.

I'm new to BMW-ing but I own a Joe Rocket Jacket I wear in winter, but I only wear it if I'm going to be riding for a while, because though its tough and waterproof, its impossible to fold, it takes up a ton of room, Its stiff, and feels like your're wearing a space suit. If you have to make stops its a real pain to deal with. So if Its a short ride or If I have to make stops I wear a leather jacket that I can just thrown down anywhere, even on the bike, its worthless nobody steals it. In the summer I have a mesh jacket that is fairly comfortable and easy to fold and deal with.

I come from the "cruiser" community and the modern fabric threads are getting much more popular there, I've been riding for a LONG time but the newer folks who stick around in the hobby tend to toss the leather for modern threads after a bit of experience.

Whether valid or not, I have more confidence in the crashworthiness of my Vanson leathers but almost always wear fabric suits because of their comfort, convenience and versatility. I had never thought about it as being a BMW-thing or not. Whatever works for you.