IGNORED

Warning: Newbie here with newbie questions

pmottaz

I apologize ahead of time if this is a rehash but I wasn't able to ask the right questions to get the results I desired in the search dept.

I am going to get back on a bike after a couple of decades -prior experience being mainly dirt (raced motocross in my younger days) and a number of years (long ago) commuting on a Honda CX500.

I believe I've narrowed my choice down to getting a used R1150RT (going to use it for commuting (primarily) and weekend rides around No.Cal).

What I haven't been able to obtain is, information about what common problems (if any) that I should be aware of when looking at used models? I ran across a post on one google search about problem bearings in the drive train? That is about all I found.

Also were there any model years that were better (handling, performance, reliability, etc.)?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pete

See: http://bmwsporttouring.com/faq.html

Good reading for us "noobs".

Pay for an hour of labor and have the bike checked out at a dealership. Sounds like we come from the same sort of background, i.e. I had a smaller Honda in college for commuting, and a 600cc one for play when I was in the Navy. Then I got married, had kids, and all that "play" stuff ended for about 20 years. Returned to dirt riding about 10 years ago, and that dropped off the last couple of years.

I picked up my RT-P as a "street re-entry" bike, since I wanted something larger when I had the 600cc, and I thought the black and white colors might keep me alive a bit longer while I was getting my feet wet again (e.g. visibility = life). Also, the cafe-racer style didn't fit me, and neither did the cruiser style bikes. The RT worked out OK, generally.

I had some decent mechanical experience, having rebuilt and restored several older dirt bikes. (Hey, they were older, but so was I, and they were still "new" to me, i.e. monoshock, etc.. I had fun working on them).