IGNORED

R1100 starter and oxygen sensor

mshuell

Greetings,

The 1996 RT spent the weekend stripped of tupperware. Over the summer the starter was balky a few times. I've discovered that when mechanical items are nice enough to give me a warning, I need to pay attention. If I ignore the warning, bad things invariably happen. I don't have the skills to take a starter apart and rebuild it. So, a new starter is the answer.

Also, the gas mileage has been going down of late. Since all the plastic was off the bike, I decided to replace the oxygen sensor. I do not find this bike easy to work on, but both jobs were uneventful.

The main point of this story is to thank everyone who contributes to this board. I have learned so much. I am not an accomplished mechanic. I'm a semi-competent parts changer. Without the information provided by the good people of this board, there is no way I would have attempted these jobs.

Best Wishes, Mark Shuell.

As to rebuilding the starter, it's not that difficult of an operation. There is a pretty good description of the process on the ADVrider forum under the Wisdom section. (botton of the web page in white hard to read print.)

Don't know yet if it has helped the gas mileage. We've been stuck in a 40 degrees and rain pattern since I replaced it. Hopefully I'll get some riding in this weekend before I button it up for the winter. This is Michigan, we'll have snow shortly.

Best Wishes, Mark Shuell.

The starter is a doddle once you have the tupperware off :)