IGNORED

Washington to California Trip

Adventure Rick

Adventure Rick

I recently got off deployment and immediately retired from the Navy. My retirement gift (to myself) was a '98 R1100RT-P. Just getting the bike was a story in itself. I'll save that for another day.

Though I'm a newbie to 2-wheeled BMW's, I had no problem trusting a Roundel-clad product on a long journey (my 325iS has 125k and still runs like a jackrabbit on crack).

My best friend Mike and I made plans to ride from Oak Harbor (Whidbey Island), WA to SoCal, staying off the interstates as much as possible, but still making some of our desired stops along the way:

- Our friend Al in Veneta, OR

- Mike's Dad, near Sutherlin, OR

- Crater Lake N.P.

- Klamath Falls, OR

- Golden Gate Bridge

- Hearst Castle

Our southern terminus was NAS Point Mugu, though we headed back north together for a while so I could make it home to California City (in the Mojave Desert). I rode a couple hours north with him to Lone Pine, CA and left him to be on his way back to WA by himself. I wish I could have gone with him, but my place was here. He's an experience iron-butter and I knew he could handle it.

You can check out my web site for lots pictures and stories.

http://web.mac.com/ibnfe2/Rick/Trips/Pages/WA-2-CA_2.html

Though I'm a newbie to 2-wheeled BMW's, I had no problem trusting a Roundel-clad product on a long journey (my 325iS has 125k and still runs like a jackrabbit on crack).

My best friend Mike and I made plans to ride from Oak Harbor (Whidbey Island), WA to SoCal, staying off the interstates as much as possible, but still making some of our desired stops along the way:

- Our friend Al in Veneta, OR

- Mike's Dad, near Sutherlin, OR

- Crater Lake N.P.

- Klamath Falls, OR

- Golden Gate Bridge

- Hearst Castle