IGNORED

Desert Riding

Jimbo RT

I'll be riding in the Desert this weekend. The daytime highs are expected to be around 112, with the lows dipping down to a frosty 85 at night. What are your suggestions about how to make the best out of riding in this heat: gear, hydration, food, stopping, etc.. Any tips from this knowlegeable and experienced board would be appreciated.

lots of critters out and about at night but that is still when I would be riding. Not very relaxing but then neither is riding with the sun baking down on me at 112.

Drink water before riding, during stops, and after riding. Keep your ATGATT stuff on. Anything above body tempeature, covering up will keep you cooler, including keeping your face shield closed. Soak your shirt under your riding jacket or get a cooling vest.

FWIW and I'm far from an expert: Travel early in the AM and late in the evening and avoid the heat of the day. I use to wear a wet t-shirt under my jacket and a wet bandana around my neck to help stay cool. I started drinking (water that is)as soon as a got up and kept drinking even though I may not have been thirsty. I ate very light and stopped when the t-shirt and bandana dried out or any time I felt tired. I use to carry several bottles of water with me on the bike and a hat with a brim just in case the bike broke down and I had to wait along side the road or had to hike to some assistance. I also carried some sun screen, but I pick up a burn under a strong street lamp.

ShovelStrokeEd

1 - drink lots of water.

2 - sunscreen and plenty of it SF 30 minimum

3 - drink lots of water.

4 - Wear reflective clothing if you have it, if not, forego the mesh. See below.

5 - drink even more water.

6 - wear an old sweat shirt or a towel around your upper torso and keep it wet. Use the venting on your outer garment to control evaporation. You can stay surprisingly comfortable utilizing evaporative cooling.