IGNORED

Windshields -- opinions

dogboy11

OK, I know I put a lot of these "opinions" posts out here but forgive me, I am still fairly new to BMW. After riding for about 175 miles on Saturday with my wife on the back, I figured out that, for her sake, before we take a long trip I need to get a windshield that will help her out more.... maybe a little taller and wider. I have looked at the Vstream, the Cee Bailey and the Aeroflow Aeroscreens. I was wondering if I could get your opinions on the advantages/disadvantages of ones you know about and possibly any other screens that I might not have seen.

Thanks for any help you can give.

DB

ShovelStrokeEd

Smaller, lower and tilted back more. Clean air is a good thing.

You did ask for an opinion. :)

CalSci is another. While I don't have experience with any other than stock and CalSci, I can say CalSci is by far better than stock. Much less buffeting thus less noise, etc. Nice product.

Sidmariner

I'm 6'3" so I bought the Cee Bailey +7 windscreen.

I'm pretty happy with it. On most rides I only have to raise it half way, which keeps the top lip below my line of sight but still reduces the helmet noise and buffetting considerably.

The windscreen really earns its keep in foul weather and winter conditions. I ride totally protected while staying nice and clean.

The only thing I wish was better was its rain-shedding ability. Water does tend to cling a bit more than I would like and the most popular screen polishes don't make any difference. I think the lexan attracts and holds water.

I'd give the Cee-Bailey 8.5 out of 10.

I installed a V-Stream on my '07 R1200RT. Works pretty well. I find I don't need the top edge of the screen as high to get similar function as the factory screen. The added width is nicer in the rain also. My wife also feels the V-Stream works better from the rear seat.