IGNORED

New to Forum - Issues or Drawbacks to R1200RT?

dogboy11

I am new to this forum and I am thinking about taking the plunge and getting a new R1200RT. This would be my first BMW after having a couple of Yamaha Vtwin cruisers. I actually test rode an R1200RT at my dealership the other day and just loved it!

I have heard a lot of good things about these bikes but I am still very new to BMW. My question to you folks is ... are there any "gotchas" about the BMW that I am not aware of? Any little idiosyncrasies or personality traits that are going to get me coming from the Vtwin world? ...what about cost of maintenance? ... tires, etc?

Any insight you could give would be greatly appreciated.

DB

I am new to this forum and I am thinking about taking the plunge and getting a new R1200RT. This would be my first BMW after having a couple of Yamaha Vtwin cruisers. I actually test rode an R1200RT at my dealership the other day and just loved it!

I have heard a lot of good things about these bikes but I am still very new to BMW. My question to you folks is ... are there any "gotchas" about the BMW that I am not aware of? Any little idiosyncrasies or personality traits that are going to get me coming from the Vtwin world? ...what about cost of maintenance? ... tires, etc?

Any insight you could give would be greatly appreciated.

DB

One of my issues was that it has a tall seating position even with the seat in the lower position. Additionally, I finally realized I didn't really want a touring bike but that was not a bike issue, just a "me" issue.

Otherwise, great bike, plenty of power, great brakes, and handles well. It has a tall first gear but I got used to that quick. FWIW.

Boy, you came to the right place! To hear us complain, you'd think somebody forced us to buy these awful bikes! blush.gif Truth is, as you'll find out, we do love them.

That said, still riding an R1100RT, I'll shut up and let others post specifically for your bike.