IGNORED

The early beginnings

Paul Mihalka

Paul Mihalka

Venezuela. Family arrived in 1947 with a few suitcases. Minimal language knowledge but believe me, if you have to, you learn fast. All of us found minimal jobs. Mine was in movie theaters. I went in incognito, with a counter in my pocket counted the customers, later filed a report with my counts to be compared with the cashier's report - to prevent fraud. No talking needed. When the gate closed for the show, I went inside and by listening I learned Spanish. I'm still a expert on 194x Mexican movies smile.gif .

1948, get into school. Different from the USA system, "bachillerato" is half way between high school and college. I was very interested in photography, from early childhood. I had a 120 roll film type camera the folding bellow type, with adjustable everything. Started taking pictures at school events, and the school liked it. The school had a photo lab, and they let me use it. I needed money, so on Sundays I walked around in the nicest neighborhoods, took pictures of the houses, and went back next week to show them to the owners. I sold quite a few. I upgraded my equipment to a Rolleicord, pour brother to the famous Rolleiflex twin-lens reflex. I also got involved with the science society of the school. Went on several expeditions into the country, deep into almost untouched Indian territory. I was the photographer. Equipment was a BOLEX 16mm movie camera, a Leica for color slides, and my Rolleicord for black and white.

Since I remember, motorcycles always fascinated me. Two uncles rode bikes, I knew the exact spec of each bike. In Venezuela a older friend had a DKW 125cc bike for his transportation. I knew all the theory of how to ride. He let me ride it around a few blocks. No mishaps. My first ride!