IGNORED

Fairly new BMWer

JDog

This is my first time (with any type of forum), so, please, be gentle! After dropping my 2001 Concours (which I liked) earlier this summer, with me on it, I managed to get it home, but the friendly insurance company totalled it. So,after doing some looking around, particularly for ABS, I found a 2004 R1150RT, at a good price. The wife nixed it, but after talking to the only two motorcyclists who stopped at an overlook north of Santa Barbara, who happened to be riding 1150RTs, I decided that was a sign, and proceeded to antagonize my wife. I had to do it. The upshotis, I love the bike. I've been doing 2000+ miles a month, as my main mode of transit for work, and have yet to not look forward to getting on it to go anywhere.

I will be scrutinizing this site for maintanance tips, as from what I have studied so far, with the BMW manual and Clymer, I'm afraid to do some of the basics, such as brake pads, for fear of messing up the Motronic, and having to get it to the BMW dealer. Any helpful hints?

John C.

Welcome, John. You've found a great site with wonderful people.

Don't be afraid of your BMW. It's not as complicated as you might think. In fact, in many ways, it's much simpler than the Connie.

I work as the Parts Manager at Brown Motor Works in Pomona. Come on in and we'll chat. I'll give you any help you need, whether it's to do the work yourself, or to hook you up with one of our BMW Master Certified Technicians to do the big stuff for you.

Welcome! The folks on this board have saved me lots of time and money (most of which I have spent of farkles and new tools grin.gif)

You can do most anything that falls in the arena of 'Scheduled Maintenance'. Valve adjustments and throttle sync, brake pads and even system bleeds, are EASY to do. Find a Tech Day in your area and GO!! Once you have seen the tupperware come off and watched someone work on the bike, you'll be much more comfortable doing it yourself.