IGNORED

Ice. How does the bike handle it?

EddyQ

Last week on my morning commute I turned the corner and there was a frosted white wooded bridge. At 40mph, I straightened the bike and cruised over it without a slip.

Ok. I feel I was very lucky. I'm new to this cold riding stuff. The last time I was riding this cold was in the woods on a dirt bike (10 years ago) were wet frozen leaves sent the rear off at a 45 immediatly.

My question for all you winter riders. How does a RT respond to ice? Will it go over in an instance?? How do you folks deal with ice?

The bike will handle it just fine, the rider, always a question. thumbsup.gif Do you tense up, do you drop throttle, shift your weight, brake, try to steer, downshift, accelerate, it,s a rider problem, not a bike problem. Best advise, stay off the ice, you will do one of the above by accident and then you will have one! dopeslap.gif

If you hit ice in a turn, you are gone. If you see ice in a straight line pull in the clutch, no brake, no gas, stay loose and let the bike roll straight. When you get home change your undies (I do).

Is there any reliable guide to when it is too cold and the risk of ice too high? Of course, I know 32 is the freezing point, but I'm talking about moisture, shade, and other factors. It can be 50 degrees and there can still be snow on the ground. I always figure if I can see any snow, it's too cold. But that standard is too risk-averse. I'd like to be out more often than that.

What creates a very common bad situation here is snow on the side of a cleared road. Often we have a sunny 40 degree day and a freezing night. The snow melts in day time and runs into the road, then freezes at night. Worst time is early morning. The temperature gets above freezing, but you can still find icy spots.