IGNORED

Questions About a trip to Banff Canada

texasaggie97

Would some of you please give me advice on when to ride to Banff this summer. I have two months off May and June and I wanted to make a trip up north. I would leave from Malibu, Ca and would like to ride up into Canada. What do I need? Do I need a passport? Is it to cold to camp? Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Hi Texasaggie97 !

Great you're coming to the great white north !

Banff should be fairly normal temps in June. I'm no expert, but i'd recommend bringing your insulating vests and stuff as the nights come quick, and the temps drop. If you run into any kind of weather, it can drop temps quick, and get pretty wet if rain's in the forecast. (They DO get about 10 feet of snow in the winter). It IS the mountains, so it's a bit of a lottery on the weather, so bring what you need to stay warm and happy..

I found this on the Canada Border Services website.. here

quote.."If you are a citizen of the United States, you do not need a passport to enter Canada; however, you should carry proof of your citizenship such as a birth certificate, certificate of citizenship or naturalization or a Certificate of Indian Status, as well as a photo ID. If you are a permanent resident of the United States, you must bring your permanent resident card (i.e. green card) with you."

If you're camping, make sure you're aware of the bear population smile.gif There's quite a few black bears, and the odd grizzly dependent on where you're staying. And watch out too for mountain sheep/goats and other assorted widelife around Banff proper. I nearly hit a moose this summer on the way to Calgary. Lotsa wildlife right in town in Banff.

Have a safe and fun trip.. it's quite pretty there !

scb

Hey Todd