IGNORED

R1100RT-P Tail lamp not working. Help!

OldSalt

I got 2VDC eek.gif - not 12VDC as needed - on the hot side of the fuse for the tail light and the fuse is good. The headlamp switch turns that 2VDC on an off. The headlamp works as advertised, as do the brake and turn signal lamps. I monkeyed with the switches, but am reluctant to tear into them without some idea as to what or where to look. I am a retired Navy Electronics Technician, so can handle the troubleshooting, but thought someone here might be able to throw me a bone and save some time. Any constructive thoughts would be appreciated.

Andy Johnston

On a standard RT the stop and tail lights are fed from the ABS control unit and would show a brake fault if either of the lamps are faulty

edit

There are three switches between live/positive and the fuse F2 they are, load relief relay, light switch and the ignition switch

andy

stop and tail lights are fed from the ABS control unit and would show a brake fault if either of the lamps are faulty

Interesting! But not conclusive, dammit! I probably should have disclosed that my ABS is out, and the lights consistently flash on the dash, first one, then the other in sequence. I bought the bike a couple of months ago with this tic intact. The manual says this is what it looks like if the ABS is not working, and the mechanic at Morton's BMW in Fredericksburg, VA told me if I don't need the ABS it won't hurt anything. (I hate having control of anything I'm driving or riding taken from me, so I thought the ABS being out was a bonus.) The brakes and brake lights work wonderfully, and it passed the state safety inspection with the ABS light flashing away. I have replaced the ABS switch recently, but that did nothing for the ABS except stop blowing the ABS 3.5amp fuse. Could that switch affect the tail light?