IGNORED

Tankslapper Total Protection Kits

ZoomX7

Has anyone tried this on their RT?

Looks like a good way to go.

Yes they work really wel - especially the 3m stronger stuff on the footplates.

They can come off the tank if you use a jet sprayer at the wrong angle and I did lose one top piece from a pannier but they give good peace of mind etc.

I have been thinking of putting the black rubbery/plastic fatter pieces on the tank edges instead of the clear plastic - they look OK and I think they would be better for tank hugging with your knees - anyone know who supplies those please?

Saved several dings in my paint already. I applied the 3M tape to the front fender, headlight, lower foot panels and painted panels above mirrors and saddle bags. I didn't apply it to the tank because I'm more concerned with rock dings. Was a little difficult getting all the air bubbles out at first but now I'm a pro. Stuff is amazingly clear and barely noticeable. I'd give it a big thumbs up! thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

I've installed the protection kit on my 07 RT. I found some of the pieces improperly cut, and I could never figure out the correct positioning of the four pieces on the leading edge of the lower fairing.

My advice: practice with the extra 3M piece they supply; take your time; make sure those of delicate sensibilities are out of earshot when you install.

If I had to make a living off of installing the stuff, I'd starve. I did leave some small bubbles, tiny really, in some inconspicuous places. But in all I'd have to say it's one of the most frustrating things I've done.

However, if the film protects as advertised, then I'd say it's well worth the money. And just think of the character building you'll be doing!

Thanks all, for the input.

I'd heard installation of this stuff is a bit tough.

But I think I'll be ordering it when I get the new RT.

The painted bags will NOT be as forgiving as my '99 RT bags have been.bncry.gif