IGNORED

Redline Heavy ShockProof

Lone_RT_rider

Lone_RT_rider

Upon having the transmission rebuilt for my R1100RT, the rebuilder ( Bruno ) suggested that I use Redline Heavy ShockProof™ Gear Oil. Info on it can be seen here. Does anyone have any information on this product, or any long term use reports?

Shawn

I've been using it for 5-6 years. First in a R1100RS and now in a 1100GS. I noticed smoother, easier shifting after switching over from what ever I was using before.

I've been using it about 2 1/2 years, first on an 1100GS and now on my 1150RT. I like it, seems to smooth out the rough gearbox edges a bit. My RT goes into 1st easier w/ it.

It also fixed my intermittently non functioning Neutral light...

You believe that, right? lmao.gif

Yes, I know, coincidence.

The Redline is really viscous and clingy. Put the bottle in a bucket of really hot water before attempting to get it into your bike.

The Redline Heavy ShockProof is a lot heavier (75W-250, according to Redline) than the recommended oil and most reports seem to indicate that it does smooth shift quality somewhat (probably due to its heavier weight)... but I'm not sure that this necessarily coincides with a longer transmission life. Not sure if it could really hurt anything but then again BMW (or Getrag) probably recommended 90W for a reason.

Lone_RT_rider
The Redline Heavy ShockProof is a lot heavier (75W-250, according to Redline) than the recommended oil and most reports seem to indicate that it does smooth shift quality somewhat (probably due to its heavier weight)... but I'm not sure that this necessarily coincides with a longer transmission life. BMW (or Getrag) probably recommended 90W for a reason.

Seth,