IGNORED

Grinding Noise

Deltamark

Just got back late this evening from a trip to Cincinnati, OH on my 99' R1100RT with my wife. Did about 500 miles in 2 days. On the way back today, I started to notice what seemed to be a wheel noise that got progressively louder. By the last 30 miles, I was real concerned because the noise sounded like metal grinding. My wife said that it sounded like it was coming from the rear and since I recently changed the rear pads, I pulled off to check them, but they seemed OK. I'm not 100 percent certain it was coming from the rear. I checked the front wheel, but didn't notice anything.

I'm almost afraid to ask, but any suggestions on what I should look for? I'm not an expert wrencher and am hoping this is something I'll be able to tackle. I'm figuring I'll pull off both of the wheels and see if anything is noticeable.

As always, I appreciate any advice from this forum!

Mark

The first thing I would check is the final drive.

Put the bike on the center stand with the rear wheel off the ground. Put bike in neutral. Grab rear wheel top and bottom and try to rock the wheel and see if there is any play (should be none). Try the same thing with your hands at the 9 and 3 oclock positions (should be none hee too).

Spin the wheel. It should spin without any crunchy or grumbly noise or feel.

Look for oil leaking from the final drive. That would be a bad sign if it's coming out past the crown wheel seal (on the left side of the final drive).

Stan

If having checked everything Stan has covered you find nothing wrong, take a look at yout tyre. Is it cupped? I had a complete rear and and gearbox stripped under warranty by my dealer looking for what sounded and felt like a dead bearing. It turned out to be a worn Avon Azaro dopeslap.gif

Andy

Mark,

If Stan's recommended FD bearing test is normal, do these things:

1- Pickup a quart of 90W or 75W-90 GL5 hypoid gear oil for the final drive (FD).