IGNORED

Vibration - mild - in R1100RT

tomrinbellingham

tomrinbellingham

I'm not a mechanic, but I like it when it runs smooth. I've got 2 R1100RTs; one is Fernando's old bike - a 1999 with now 100K miles on it. The other is a new to me 1997 with 50K miles on it. Both seem to have been taken care of mechanically and cosmetically better than average.

I rode Fernando's old bike around Europe this summer for 6 weeks and about 6K miles - no vibration at any speed. The '97 seems to have a very mild vibration which gets more noticable at about 65mph and seems almost as bad as a Harley at over 100mph. It isn't tires/wheels - at high speed, when I put in the clutch and idle the engine, it runs smooth.

The vibration isn't accompanied by any knocking noise or anything that leads me to think it might be this or that.

Anyone gat an idea what it could be? What tests I could do to track it down? confused.gif

Thanks for any help.

Tom

It is probably throttle sync. I know I can tell by feel when my 1150 is even slightly off perfect synchronisation. The 180° engine configuration exagerates any difference in setup.

Andy

I'm not a mechanic, but I like it when it runs smooth. I've got 2 R1100RTs; one is Fernando's old bike - a 1999 with now 100K miles on it. The other is a new to me 1997 with 50K miles on it. Both seem to have been taken care of mechanically and cosmetically better than average.

I rode Fernando's old bike around Europe this summer for 6 weeks and about 6K miles - no vibration at any speed. The '97 seems to have a very mild vibration which gets more noticable at about 65mph and seems almost as bad as a Harley at over 100mph. It isn't tires/wheels - at high speed, when I put in the clutch and idle the engine, it runs smooth.

The vibration isn't accompanied by any knocking noise or anything that leads me to think it might be this or that.

Anyone gat an idea what it could be? What tests I could do to track it down? confused.gif

Thanks for any help.

Tom