IGNORED

R1200RT tranny clunk

Jones

I've been riding Japasaki bikes for over 2 decades. I finally got the BMW bike of my dreams. I'm not a rich man and this was a big deal (read mid-life crisis big) for me. The R1200RT is like a dream come true. There are a couple of things, however, I want to ask y'all BMW master gurus about.

First, the King Arthur sized sword sticking out from between my shoulder blades after about 2 hours of riding. I am 5'8" tall, 28-30" inseam, and a less than Brad Pitish 250 lbs. This bike is just at my limit to plant foot (not feet) without much problem. Dang that sword hurts! I have a Suburban Machinery pull-back adapter which I'll put on later this week. Is anything going to help more?? My mother used to tell me I had bad posture but at 46 years old I think I'm about as good as I'm going to get. What else to do??

Second, the BMW transmission clunk. Many say its a beemer thing and just get used to it. I understand clunky trannies but is this REALLY normal?? Geeeez! Just had the 600 mile check-up and it passed. I'm going to get a phobia about downshifting from 3-2-1. Please tell me how to at least make it better. After a lifetime of wet-clutched asian bikes...this is german engineering? I shredded a drive shaft on a Kiwasaki (dealer left it dry at assembly) and my experience is giving me warning flags while the BMW boards tell me to "suck it up beemer boy"

I know I sound like a new guy, I am. I love the RT and I just need a little wise guidence.

Thanks for your help and I'll see you on the road

St0nkingByte