IGNORED

Windscreen failure ( gears ?)

becmat

Hopefully I am not the only one that this has happened to ?

The windshield just collapsed against the stop and will not respond when the button is depressed. I manually raised the shield and it just returns to the down most position. I suspected the gears were toast and I was advised that is in fact the problem.

Has anyone ever repaired this problem? I can use some advise. I am basically a fair mechanic, is this something I should try to fix or should I just bite the bullet and have the dealer do it? The estimate from the dealer was enough to make you wince, since the gears (plastic) are not that much.

Any suggestions, experiences or words of wisdom?? will be greatly appreciated.

Mat frown.gif

Sounds a bit wierd. On the '03 the windshield is sprung to assist the motor raise itself. In other words if the gears were toast the shield should stay in the upright position at standstill.

Is the motor turning when you push the button?

You may have a switch that is trying to lower the shield permanently. You may be able to raise the shield but as soon as the electrical stop on the motor is passed the motor will pull it back down. Check your switch operation first.

It's no biggy to pull the shield off then the top cover to see what is going on. If you do and decide to pull the cover off the gearbox, watch out for the spring action on the driven shaft!!!

Cheers,

Yeeha! Stephen

There was a post on here a looooong time ago about someone who had the gear strip on the motor shaft, not the actual teeth. When they found out how much the real deal repair was... out came the JB Weld.

Claimed it worked really well.