IGNORED

Tranny probs

Zorcher1

Hi all, Im new to the bmw world, Im looking at buying a 2000 1100 rt-p, the owner says that it slips out of 1st and second when rolling to a stop. First of all, is this common? Second, what are options and ball park prices for repair, rebuild, refurbished or new trannies. The owner is offering the bike for a very low price so Im not against putting a little money into repairs. Thanks, Marc

Hi all, Im new to the bmw world, Im looking at buying a 2000 1100 rt-p, the owner says that it slips out of 1st and second when rolling to a stop. First of all, is this common? Second, what are options and ball park prices or repair, rebuild, refurbished or new trannies. The owner is offering the bike for a very low price so Im not against putting a little money into repairs. Thanks, Marc

I have a 2001-RTP. I lost the transmission last November. The bike is now back together and road tested. I've very happy with the results. It shifts like a Honda - silky smooth, no "clunk", very nice.

As some will advise you, shifting problems can occasionally be caused by problems in the linkage (between the foot lever and transmission). Given it's official service, I'd be a pessimist. If you're purchasing the bike, assume the worst.

You have several basic options:

1) Have a BMW R&R the transmission. My local shop quoted me $3300 for the job, plus about $800 labor.

2) Have a BMW or good independent shop replace your transmission with a BMW rebuilt transmission. 7 months ago, the retail price was about $2600, and Chicago BMW had one for $2150. Labor ran between $450 and $800 (i.e. independent/BMW Dealer).

3) #2 above, but find a low-mileage used transmission from ebay or a reliable used dealer (Mike at beemerboneyard.com). Prices vary between $300 and $900, depending on the source and condition.

4) Remove the transmission yourself, have it repaired by Bruno in Canada, Tom Cutter in Pennsylvania, or another respected independent.