Dead or dying R1200RT

MickFinn

Wonder if anyone can possibly point me in the right direction?? I parked my RT and left it for a while. I couldn't start it when I returned. After a few attempts it started but ran erratically and cut out. I got it started again and drove it o.k. for a few minutes. I switched it off and got my gear on. When I tried to re-start it it refused to fire. I eventually had to leave it. My nearest dealer is 120 miles away so I'm wondering if I have missed something obvious? I have been driving it for the last five months without a problem.

frown.giffrown.gif

Thanks. Will check for water but I use the same filling station all the time. My friend filled his bike at the same pump after me and his bike is o.k. (RT1150)

Could still be water--condensation. Always make sure tank is full before storing for a while. Add about 16 oz (assuming you have 3 gals gas in tank)of isopropanol, methanol, or ethanol to scavenge the water. Crank until it starts---or better yet drain it if you can after adding the alco. and then put in fresh gas and crank it.

Thanks for the advice. I have to go away for a few days so I have got B.M.W. Assist to take the bike back to the dealer in Dublin. It's still under warranty so I don't really want to start pulling it apart just yet. I will post the result of the dealer's findings. clap.gifclap.gif

I don't blame you. The bike shouldn't be failing you this early, so the burden of repair belongs on BMW. Keep us posted.

Jay

Hi,