IGNORED

LT - Year one

wrestleantares

wrestleantares

My story actually begins more than a year ago. I started riding when I was twelve. I didn't have a dirt bike. I didn't have a scooter. I was a little guy weighing about 78 pounds and I was riding a XS650 from the 70's. It was a "for real and true" barn bike.

My family had bought the farm and the bike came with it. Actually it was tucked away in a shed rotting away. I dragged it out and began to tear it down, not knowing what in the heck I was doing. I took parts off, labeled the screws and bolts and began to clean up the bike. My father watched me at it for a couple of days and then began to help.

We actually got the bike running. I rode it for the next several years as a dirt bike on the farms old dirt roads and trails.

I took a hiatus from biking during college. A bike was just out of reach since I had to pay for college myself. My hard work paid off though, I came out of four years of a private college owing just over 2K. Working as a plumber really helped.

I got married and still went without a bike - but after our first year of marriage we bought/built our first house.

Then it came - my next bike. It was cheap. A 1982 CB750C with under 15,000 miles on it. In the next 8-9 years I proceeded to put about 150,000 more miles on it, the bike was practically indestructible.

Then came my first brand spanking new bike. It was 2003. I had finally gotten around to taking the MSF course - a good thing - to encourage my wife. We took it together. I think having kids must have encouraged her adventurous side as she had never expressed an interest in riding by herself before.

I went looking for a bike. At this point I had never ridden a cruiser. I test rode a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic. It felt right, was big enough for comfortable touring, low enough for the wife to handle, and cheap. I have to admit the cheap part worked the strongest in its favor.