IGNORED

2000 R1100RT. Brake & Oil questions

zbassman

Hi,

I recently purchased a 2000 R1100RT. It has about 56,000 miles on it. This is my first bmw, so I'm just learning about the various adjustments and mechanical aspects of the bike. Pleading ignorance I have two questions for the more learned of you (which'll be about everyone).

1) the rear brake pedal has started fading a bit. That is its taking more push to engage the rear brake. I've added brake fluid, which maybe helped a bit. But it's still not right.

On my my last bike, a Suzuki with a drum rear brake, I had to periodically adjust a couple of nuts to compensate for the wearing of the brake pads.

Is there a similar adjustment for the R1100RT? Or am I likely looking at a failing master cylinder?

2)Is it normal for these bikes to burn a bit of oil? I'm adding bit of oil every couple hundred miles. Not much.I've probably only added a quart since I got the bike 2 months ago, which is about 2,500 miles ago.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Peter_Doege

Hello -

There are no adjustments, the rear brakes are all hydraulic. I would bleed them and inspect the pads and locating pins.

I had oil issues on my R1100R. Many small leaks from the sight glass, various loose bolts. A large leak from the rear main seal was the big culprit.

Are you familiar with the "foot spray" leak checking technique?

Check where the transmission bolts to the engine for black deposits. If you have them, the rear seal is the culprit. It is not a particularly cheap fix on these bikes.

I spent about 3 months tracking down and fixes all of the leaks. It was a hassle, but what a wonderful bike it is now!

Regards,

Peter Doege

The rear braking system has been pretty reliable on these bikes. My guess is that you may just have a little air in the system and a quick bleed job will fix it right up.