IGNORED

Replacing Relay Receptacle - Is This Difficult?

OlGeezer

I know "difficult" is a relative term. I've read in my manual how to remove the whole enchalada, but can one receptacle be removed from the top?

I tested the receptacle at my lighting relay and had no voltage through it. Now, with the relay in and turn on the power, I hear a "zzzzt" sound. I'm not an electrical engineer (obviously), but that doesn't sound good.

TIA,

I know "difficult" is a relative term. I've read in my manual how to remove the whole enchalada, but can one receptacle be removed from the top?

I tested the receptacle at my lighting relay and had no voltage through it. Now, with the relay in and turn on the power, I hear a "zzzzt" sound. I'm not an electrical engineer (obviously), but that doesn't sound good.

TIA,

Bill, I’m not sure what it is that you are looking to do here?

You say you have no power through your relay socket.. There really isn’t much to those relay sockets except the terminals inside them.. If your plastic socket isn’t burnt beyond use then it’s a simple matter of using a terminal pick & pulling the old terminal(s) out , crimping a new on one the wire then pushing the terminal back in..

With your problem being NO POWER are you sure your problem isn’t a blown fuse or broken wire.. As a rule when a relay socket has no power it is because the circuit supplying the power has an open in it..

Most relay sockets have two power sources to them.. The first would be the power to the relay’s internal control coil (magnet) & that is usually controlled by an external accessory switch (or transistor in an electronic control module).. The other power source would be the B+ power that the relay actually switches on & off to operate the accessory.. The mentioned power inputs generally come form separate isolated sources or separate fuses..