IGNORED

Slow Riding - Dry Clutch - Friction Zone

bmurphypdx

bmurphypdx

Having read the "RT Cones" thread, I'm at a loss. I'm a noob with about 2,500 miles under my belt. I want to become very proficient at slow speed maneuvers. I have a R1200ST with a dry clutch. So should I use the friction zone in practice? Apparently not. If not, what is the proper technique with a dry clutch? Everything I've seen (MSF course, Ride Like a Pro DVD) relies on use of the friction zone. What should I do? frown.gif

As you're learning you'll be slipping the clutch more than you should... its inevitable. However once you build your skills you'll have very good clutch control and will not be slipping the clutch during slow speed maneuvers.

IMO, the best habbit you can get into to develop good clutch control is to pull in the clutch just to the point that there is no friction on the clutch, but no further. That way as you're doing these slow speed maneuvers, when you need power, it'll be right there... just a fraction of an inch of movement in the clutch lever and it will begin to engage.

bmurphypdx

OK. Just to make sure I understand - you are suggesting that I use the clutch (engaged obviously)for power and sufficient entry speed, then disengage (no friction on the clutch)to begin the maneuver and then re-engage only when needed for power to the rear wheel. Do I have that right? Thanks.

Don't forget, as mentioned on the cones thread, give the clutch a rest or chance to cool off frequently during practice if you slip it a lot.