IGNORED

Down not Out - lineareagle - clipped wings responds.

Lineareagle

Lineareagle

Well, here is the report of the accident and ensuing story line to complete the thread.

I left Ely NV at about 6:30 and progressed on the next stage of the journey which would have

seen me transitioning from high desert to the Sierras and on into the foothills of California, perhaps

as far as Redding, although that would have precluded any major sight seeing on the route.

My first fuel stop was to be Austin, NV and 24 miles outside the town I was climbing the hills

on sweepers and running between 55 and 65 mph.

I was well into the turn on a good sight line, I always try to stay on my side of the lane line out of habit

and I believe safe motorcycling.

Of course I have no actual knowledge of what my speed actually was just that it was comfortable

and I was ready to start accelerating out of the corner, when I noticed a covering of light sand on the

road surface and my line degrading significantly.

Salvation was in straightening out and riding into a hill, or holding the line and hoping for traction.

I chose the latter.

It wasn't working and I saw heavy windrows of sand on the edge of the road and knew I was done for.

The bike went down quickly, I felt my leg snap, took a good solid whack on the right rear of my helmet

and next thing I knew I was rolling onto my knees and hands doing a self check on all systems.

Hope springs eternal and I felt good until I flexed my left calf and something was not right, broken for sure, shit.

Rolled back onto my back and waited. About 3 minutes until I heard someone ask if I was all right.

Nope, broken leg.

Can I help?

Sure could you gather up my bags and bring me my tank bag?

Several minutes of instruction resulted in my bags arranged around me.

I took out my camera and took this picture of the bike when I heard a laugh.

149464100-M.jpg