IGNORED

michelin road tires

acacia

I own a 2004 1150rt. I use it mostly for touring with some canyon riding here in So Cal. I'm shopping for tires and I need some help. I'm on my first set of tires and I'm not sure what to buy as replacements. I would like to get some feedback (good, bad, ugly) on the Michelin Road tires for which I'm very close to purchasing. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'm a dedicated Pilot Road user for my R1100RT. I really like the way that the front and rear wear at the same rate. Not my experience with MEZ-4's 6's or 880's, I will go through about 1 1/2 rear tires to every front. The Pilot Roads tend to be noisy but they stick well and have never let me down. Every time I mount a set of MEZ 6's on the bike I will pick up an early nail or screw. Not a design issue of the tire, just my particular luck.

Yeeha! Stephen

I like the Mich Pilot Roads. They aren't as quick to turn in as say the Avons, which I like.

I don't get much wear out of them, but I think it's the rough roads we ride on here. We don't have very much smooth asphalt, it's mostly rough chip sealed roadways. Could possibly squeeze 7k out of them but why wait... I change them every service, I change them while I'm changing everything else. tongue.gif

Bruce Barrow

Pilot Roads have given me the best mileage on my 99RT. I have a new set in the garage ready to go for this spring. I should get about 9500 mi. on the present set. That is 2-3,000 miles more than the Metzlers and Bridgestones. I'll continue to run the Michelins until the bike is junked.

Bruce

Yeah Michelin Pilot Roads are JUNK!

All I got was a measley 10k out of them. Yuck. tongue.gif

Leaves a bad taste in my mouth. lmao.gifgrin.gif

I would be happy to get 10000miles (16000km) out of the Pilot Roads. After all I only got 11000km out of BT020's. bncry.gif

RussInParis