IGNORED

Short sharp shock

elwoodpone

Can any one tell me if when replacing a shock with a unit 3/4" shorter than stock should I push the fork up the same distance.

Oh, k75 if that makes any difference.

I'm not too sharp about all this geometry stuff--or much else for that matter--would appreciate some wisdom. Thanx.

Putting a 3/4" shorter shock on will result in lowering the bike much more than 3/4" because of the angle the shock mounts at.

If you lower one end of the bike a distance, you should lower the other end the same amount. This way the handling will remain the same, only the machine will be lower.

I'm not an expert & my advice is worth what you pay for it but...

I would find a suitable spot on the bike to measure angle of the bike with a helper holding the bike up level.

Take 2 measurements.

(1)with stock shocks

(2) with lowered shocks

After marking the stock position of the forks I would then adjust the forks until the angle matched #1. Mark this position.

Hopefully you would still have an acceptable amount of travel left.

If not then at least you would know what you started with & ended with so you could experiment to find a good compromise.

A tool like this one may help.

I know this is a relatively common prctice on k bikes so I'm wondering if anyone knows of or has ridden a lowered bike and what/how bad the handling consequences are: e.g. lean clearance etc.?

And thank you for your responses to initial Q.!

I lowered my wife's 03 GT with Welbers front & back.

Yes the bike sat 1.5"(requested/claimed) lower but because they were made for her weight (I didn't say that did I) it work fairly good for light weight me when rode it. Sure it scraped but it was what it was.... a compromise.

I learned that hanging my weight off when going around the corners reduced the scraping(s).

More then you asked but you may have to modify the side stand.

I modified the side stand & thats when I came up with the before/after angle idea.