IGNORED

uneven tire wear

paintman

I bought a used 2000 1100RT last year with a salvage title. I was told that the bike had no damage to the frame, forks or engine (cosmetic only and has new fairings). The bike runs great and I put about two thousand miles on it. I changed the rear tire because the former owner rode highway a lot and had worn it flat. After about another thousand miles I have noticed that the front tire has worn through the grooves but only on the left side of the tire. The former owner had told me the front tire was new when I purchased it. I now fear that the bike does have a bent frame or maybe bent forks. It doesn't appear to handle poorly but I am fairly new to street bikes. Any comments?

And the pressure you are running? Tire type, make, model?

As for bent frame/fork. These things tend to show up pretty quick on the first ride. The don't track or steer well. Let alone the obvious indicators of said damage.

The front tire by the way wears out more quickly on the left due to road crowning.

It seems as though the front tires thumbsup.gif always wear unevenly. I would not worry about it. It is a little "quirk" that you have to put up with. Enjoy that excellent bike!

I bought a used 2000 1100RT last year with a salvage title. I was told that the bike had no damage to the frame, forks or engine (cosmetic only and has new fairings). The bike runs great and I put about two thousand miles on it. I changed the rear tire because the former owner rode highway a lot and had worn it flat. After about another thousand miles I have noticed that the front tire has worn through the grooves but only on the left side of the tire. The former owner had told me the front tire was new when I purchased it. I now fear that the bike does have a bent frame or maybe bent forks. It doesn't appear to handle poorly but I am fairly new to street bikes. Any comments?