IGNORED

Dual Sporting

Richard_D

I just picked up an XR650L . What tires do you dual sport riders prefer? I'm new to this kind of riding and not sure how much street or dirt I'll be on. Thanks.

I just picked up an XR650L . What tires do you dual sport riders prefer? I'm new to this kind of riding and not sure how much street or dirt I'll be on. Thanks.

There's lots of good choices. If you think you'll be favoring the 'dirt side", then the continental TKC-80 is good. I run them in summer on my GS. In winter, when I'm more on pavement, I use Michelin Anakee's. The Michelin's give me about 7k miles, the Conti's only about 3.5k.

Go over to the Adventure Rider's Forum and check around there for more specifics about tires for your 650.

I think I've narrowed it down to the most agressive dirt D.O.T tire or strictly a dirt tire like my favorite S12's. Florida has alot of deep sand and I'd just slow down on the street. I think it's between the Dunlop 606, Pirelli MT21 or Kenda trackmaster K760. Does anyone know if the D.O.T. tires would last longer than the strictly dirt S12's from Michellin or is it just hype. The knobs don't look too much different. I read everything ADVrider has but just wanted the opinions from the old reliable group I'm used to hearing from. P.S. Thanks Tim, I think I'll move up to the AA class just from what you said. grin.gif

Richard, you don't want S12 tires on the bike if it's going to be on much pavement at all. That's way too aggressive for a bike that'll see mild dirty but mainly pavement. grin.gif

That's way too aggressive for a bike that'll see mild dirty but mainly pavement. grin.gif

Oh, you bad boy. grin.gif A birthday boy at that. wave.gif

Richard, I'll have to plug the Pirelli MT21. It's an excellent DOT legal sand and mud tire which does "OK" on the road (none of the knobbies are very good on the road with the exception of the TKC80). If you are planning on mostly dirt, it's definately worth looking at.