IGNORED

Tents?? Camp Gear??

Firefight911

Looking to see what you are using for a tent while you are on the bike. OK, that doesn't sound right and it would look funny!! dopeslap.gifdopeslap.gif Riding around on a bike with a tent! How would you see? Sheesh!

Anyway, bad jokes aside (I am known for them!!!), what tent do you use and WHY?

Also, groundcloth or no grouncloth and why?

Vestibule or not?

Things to look for, be aware of, and avoid?

Any help here would be great.

The UN is a comin' and if I expect to do the riding I plan on, camping will be required so that cost does not cut the trip short.

Other associated camp gear that you use, etc. would be helpful, such as a Jet Boil, cookware, Kermit chair, etc.

Thanks in advance!! wave.gifwave.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

I have been using the Eureka 3xt for about 10 years and swear by it. I have been in rain storms, gotten up the next morning in 2" of water outside and none in the tent. It stays up in wind storms, wears well, and they stand by their lifetime guarantee on the poles. Replaced two at no cost! Eureka 3XT thumbsup.gif

check out the "big agnes" line of bags. pad slides in...kinda unique and very functional per the reviews i've read. i'm looking for a new set up for moto camping as well. leaning towards the big agnes for a new bag.

There's no end of good tents out there, from cheap to pricey.

My latest tent has a generous vestible, and I love it. I can't imagine going back to tenting wothout one. If it's raining I sit in my Kermit chair in the vestible and read, there's plenty of light from a window, and I just keep the vestible door open and enjoy the water-show. It's a good place to enjoy a stogie too, keeps the 'skeeters away!

Hi,

Get over to an REI store(lots in CA) and look over tents,have them set a few up for you,

Also look at REI's website and their online outlet too.