IGNORED

Can rider error cause Tank Slappers?

Misti

I've heard people talk about tank slappers, giving tips on what to do if one happens to occur. But what actually causes a tank slapper or speed wobble? Are there things that riders do that increase the chances of experiencing a tank slapper?

Misti

ShovelStrokeEd

Misti,

I think the question needs to be more precise. Having been the victim of a speed wobble, which lead to a tank slapper, which lead to a trip to the hospital with two broken ankles (I bailed off at about 60) I have some experience in the matter. Being of an analytical bent, I set about determining the causes of such things. BTW, this was my first attempt at building my own drag race chassis and I made some mistakes.

Some defenitions and reasons: