IGNORED

Cold Start Lever Detent Positions?

NYTransplant

Hi all, I'm an absolute Newbie here and this is my first post.

I've done a quick search and I'll apologize in advance if I missed something obvious.

I just picked up my newest addition yesterday. Its a '99 Mandarin R1100S. From what I understand, the Cold Start Lever has 3 positions. Mine seems to have none. When I pull it up, it comes right back down. Is this a common issue? Anyone have any advice on the fix?

Thanks a bunch!

Tim

The lever works as follows. All the way down is off. Half way up is, well, half. It will stay in that position. All the way up is "full" for lack of a better word. It must be held in the full position. If you pull it up to full and let it go, it will go back down to half. I'll bet your lever is at the half position right now. Try pushing the lever down to see if it goes to the off position.

The lever works as follows. All the way down is off. Half way up is, well, half. It will stay in that position. All the way up is "full" for lack of a better word. It must be held in the full position. If you pull it up to full and let it go, it will go back down to half. I'll bet your lever is at the half position right now. Try pushing the lever down to see if it goes to the off position.

And make sure you dont keep it in the middle position. The increased idle speed will overheat the engine at a standstill - enough to melt the tupperware and oil sight glass.

Thanks so much! I will check when I go home tonight what position the lever is in. I didn't try to push it down.

This forum is great! I have read previously about the "warm-up" being a big no-no. I'm glad I found that tidbit because my tendency would be to warm up the bike.

Tim

To add just a bit, if your lever doesn't behave as Jim accurately described it, you have a cable problem. Out of adjustment or something more to be explored.