IGNORED

The R1200ST and the Corsa IIIs

NakedRider

Just had the most interesting experience -

I've read several forums where people have ridden the new R1200ST and complained about the "hinge at the middle" handling. Several owners usually chime in and say theirs is solid as a rock and suggest everything from tire pressure changes to suspention set up. Both not bad suggestions.

I've now been in both camps...on the same bike!! Since my bike was new it had a tendency to tuck the front end when you initiated a turn. Many times if you hit a mid-turn dip it would also tuck. I've been trying to ride around this by keeping the front end unweighted and it works to a point. High speed sweepers were never an issue. Just initial turn in and mid-turn dips.

I remember a member of another forum recommending the Parellies. I've never tried them on any bike before this past Thursday when I had them installed on my ST.

Two canyon rides later I still can't believe this is the same bike. The front end tuck is 100% gone!

I now believe both camps. Those that have a problem with the handling because I did too and those who claim their bike is steady as a rock because mine is now as well. You would never believe a change in tire type would be this dramatic.

I had been running Metzeler M3s. I loved the grip these tires had at extreme lean but they didn't seem to maintain the same level of grip as they aged. IMO the BT-14s age better.

Anyway, I thought I would share this since many members on this board have ridden the ST and had one impression or the other and now I know, for sure, both are correct.

Try different tires if you have a handling problem. It worked for me. Now I'll see how well these things age.

clap.gif

I was waiting for you to post this!!!!

Little birdie let me in on what you had done and had told me you were VERY happy!!

Kudos on the write up.

I will be very interested to hear more details as they were; longevity, grip, characterisitcs, wet weather, etc.