IGNORED

Spline lube.... What is it? Do I need to do it????

cali_beemer

Okay, new to working on my own bike as I have always had work done by the dealers and to be honest, my beemers have never had problems. My question is what is all this stuff I am seeing about Spline lubes on the clutch? How do you tell if you need one and when you do it, what is it that you do in order to perform this task? Does it help preserve the clutch. I know that is one of the weak areas to this bike. I have a 97 RT with 13,000 miles that I just bought. Everything on the clutch is working fine for right now but I dont want to wait until something fails on me.

Hey Cali, first off, welcome to the board, please fill out your bio as we are finicky about who we talk to. {Disclaimer} I'm no mechanic and someone with tons more knowledge will surely chime in. As old as the bike is I say yes, do the spline lube/inspection. With the bike sitting idle for that many years surely it could use a good going over before highway use.

Yes ...do it. And don't use any old grease either. You need to use a 60% moly grease. Easiest stuff to get is Honda's "Moly 60". Nearly everyone who greases their splines uses the stuff. A small $15 cartridge of the stuff lasts years.

First sign that you need a clutch spline inspection/lube is that gear shifting tends to hang up and not shift when you want a lower gear. If it shifts up and down with the normal klick-klick (or klonk-klonk grin.gif) you don't have a immediate problem. Still, servicing it is a good idea.

A bit more discriptive...

There are three sets of splines in the drive line of the R bikes. A set between the engine and the transmission that the clutch plate slides on, a set between the transmission and the drive shaft that the shaft slides on, and a set between the drive shaft and final drive that the FD also slides on as the suspension of the bike moves up and down.