IGNORED

scariest experience on two wheels?

quaintance

What have been the scariest moments on a motorcycle for you?

I've had a lot of "skipped heartbeat" moments on corners and whatnot(including a moose stumbling out of the woods mid-corner on me) but there was one time a few years back that really stuck out as being a truly scary experience:

I was travelling from Denver to Vegas in a day and about 40 miles north of Cedar City on I15 in Utah I came up on a dust cloud crossing the hwy.. a huge swath of land was kicking up dirt into the air and it looked like a wall of thick brown smoke crossing. I stopped short for a few moments and decided that it was probably a short trip through and if I just followed one of the semi's heading in I would be fine... ha ha!

as I started riding in visibility dropped down to about zero, I could barely see my instrument cluster and my helmet began to fill with fine dust inside and out. I was travelling maybe 5mph behind this semi wondering how long before someone came barrelling in behind me... suddenly the Semi veered and stopped, half on the hwy half off. I decided stopping was a BAD idea and kept moving forward dragging my feet almost unable to see anything. It started to lighten up in a few areas and I could see other cars in the center divider.. Kept inching forward and pretty soon I got out, coughing and choking and just completely covered in silt.

I stopped on the other side and for 5 full minutes not another car exited the the cloud. about 5min later down the hwy I watched as emergency vehicles raced in the opposite direction.

The entire time all I could think was that if I stopped I'd end up being run over by something much bigger than me.