IGNORED

1200RT Boy do I hate this seat

ldracer

I hate the stock seat as much as I love the rest of the bike. First I rounded all the sharp edges and shaved the nose down. That helped a little. Then I added two Alaska leather sheapskins. That got me to a 400 mile range withouth standing on the pegs too much. For some reason this activity seems to freak out people in cars so I like to keep it to a minimum.

Now I have a Corbin I bought used from a fellow switching to a Rick Mayer. The Corbin is shaped way better for me, but like all Corbins it is hard as a brick bat. The nose is a little wider. I am 5'9" 32" inseam and I am as far on my toes as I find useable. One sheepskin and a nose job may be the ticket. I will try and get a comparison of the Corbin vs.Rick Mayer from the previous owner of my seat.

Not an R12RT owner, but . . .

I have some previous experience with Corbins (have owned three of them) and I recently got a Rick Mayer for my R12ST. As you may have learned, the Corbins, with their proprietary seat pan, don't always fit precisely. However, once you've got them adjusted that tends not to be a problem.

The Corbins do, to a small degree, conform to your tush after you've used them a while. However, they always remain firm. I got a sheepskin seat cover that I used for long distances with my last Corbin and it was a pretty good combination.

The Rick Mayer that I got for my ST is much more comfortable than any of my previous Corbins were, even after I had put thousands of miles on them. FWIW, my perception is that the quality of construction is better than the Corbins.

Also, though I'm 6'1", the width of the Corbin caused me to have my legs splayed out further than I liked when I was at a stop. Not an issue with the Rick Mayer seat.