IGNORED

need techlusion help on 1150rt

vtr1000

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and to BMW motorcyles so please excuse anything I overlook. Just some backround info, I bought a 02 1150rt this summer with 20k on it and it ran OK but it had a moderate surge and slow throttle response. When I got it home I changed plugs, oil, air filter, synced the carbs with carb sticks and adjusted the valves. The intakes were very loose .011-.012 and exhaust were pretty close to spec. The bike ran a little better after that for a while then I installed a techlusion 1031 TFI unit to get rid of the surge.I installed the unit myself with no problems. I am an auto mechanic so I know my way around a wrench. My problem starts with trying to tune it. Whenever I turn the green pot anywhere past the 1 o'clock position the idle gets very rough and the farther I turn it the worse the idle gets, if I turn it past 3 o'clock it will barely stay running. I tried re-syncing the TB's again with the 1031 off and it made no difference. I found a happy middle ground about 1:30 o'clock were the surging is almost gone and it will idle just OK. It also has a slight stumble below 2500 rpm. My other settings are as follows, green pot 1:30 o'clock, yellow pot 3 o'clock,red pot 5 o'clock,and rpm pot 9 o'clock. The other settings have no effect on the idle qaulity. The bike runs great on the highway except for the slight surge. I called techlusion and they suggested turning the idle screws out half a turn each until the idle improved (it never did) and if that didn't work then adjust the TPS positon. I have not done this because I have heard how sensitive it is and I have my doubts wether it will fix it. If I turn the green pot off the idle returns to normal. My question is am I missing something about the install and tuning or does the techlusion unit normaly affect the idle this way.Or is there something else wrong with the bike that would cause the techlusion to have this effect? I would like to get r