IGNORED

Bike to bike Antenna alternatives.

CraigT

Along with Autocom, I use the Kenwood TK250, which comes with a very small antenna probably less than three inches long.

I know that a larger antenna should theoretically give better transmission and reception and thus I'd be keen to try out something that increased both, however the simple application of a half or quarter wave monopole has me having a huge 'whip' style antenna. frown.gif

I'm appealing to the tried & tested crew who have fitted a remote antenna to their walkie talkies and also the radio engineers to learn of the true 'gain' attained by such a mod, and for those who did change:- Was there any noticeable difference in either clarity or signal strength/distance achieveable?

I'm an electrical engineer myself, but this is a little out of my field. confused.gif I understand the fundamentals, but just unsure if the bigger factor is the radio transmission wattage, hence amplification (possibly taking me into licence requirements) is what I'm seeking, but not via watts, just antenna efficiency.

Sorry for the waffle, but it may get to the answer faster. thanks

The stub antennae are 'loaded' to make them appear as a 1/4 wave pole to the transmitter, which ensures full power transfer. You are right however, that a longer antenna gives better signal, they are higher gain. A monopole has a gain of 0, the loaded stub a negative gain.

A big whip will give you a greater range but not that much. Terrain masking is a much larger factor. The antenna is low-down and masked by buildings, hills and even cars.

Without moving into licenced PMR or Ham status there is little you can do except for getting a good transceiver. It is the receiver end that will get you the improvements, that is where the ability to pull a signal out of the noise counts.

I hope this has not added to the confusion, antenna theory had the lowest pass rate in my technical training ( I got an A-) grin.gif

Andy