IGNORED

helmet tapping

taters

maybe someone can help me out. i have been riding for 18 months. on 3 ocassions i motorcyclest coming toward me on a 2 lane h'way kept tapping his helmet, what does this mean? thanks in advance

Tapping the top of the helmet is also a way to tell someone that their headlight is out.

I didn't know about the LEO thing. I will be sure to remember it.

You will also see someone pump his left hand up and down with his palm down. When you see it, it is an obvious "slow down" gesture.

my "moto-mentors" said cop ahead, tap your head! dopeslap.gif
There are jurisdictions (CT used to be one) where this is illegal -- e.g. you are not allowed to warn other drivers of police in the vicinity and one who sees you engaged in flashing your lights (cars usually) or hand signalling may pull you over and cite you for the offense.

Jim

There are jurisdictions (CT used to be one) where this is illegal -- e.g. you are not allowed to warn other drivers of police in the vicinity and one who sees you engaged in flashing your lights (cars usually) or hand signalling may pull you over and cite you for the offense.

Jim

Whoa, just a minute. I am no fan of the ACLU but if a LEO cited me for a hand gesture which could be interpreted as a warning for "cop ahead", I would be knocking on their door. First amendment anyone?

Is your headlight on high beam when you get the "head tapping" gesture? I use the same gesture to tell the rider behind me to dim their lights when it gets late in the evening and the high beam is too bright.

Slow down for whatever reason is usually the palm down "whoa" gesture.

motorcyclest coming toward me on a 2 lane h'way kept tapping his helmet, what does this mean?

If he 's rubbing his belly with his other hand, he's just showing off. smirk.gif

AdventurePoser
motorcyclest coming toward me on a 2 lane h'way kept tapping his helmet, what does this mean?

If he 's rubbing his belly with his other hand, he's just showing off. smirk.gif