R1000RT Loss of power - clutch splines??

rbmw

I am a newbie to this forum and a first time major wrencher, although I have done routine type maintenance on cars and bikes. Please excuse any incorrect terminolgy or part names.

I was riding my 96 R1100RT (39K miles) when I suddendly lost power to the rear wheel. It actually lost almost all power immediately and then over the next minute or so lost remaining power (rear wheel will actually turn slowly if off the ground). I have read a lot of posts and I think it sounds a lot like the clutch hub and input shaft spline issue.

I have started disassembling the bike and have gotten to the point where I took off the starter. I can see the clutch plates. I can put the bike in nuetral or hold in the clutch and can turn the rear wheel and see the inner clutch plate spin. When I put the bike in gear and let the clutch out, the tire will turn but the clutch plates do not move at all. It sounds like the final drive is moving and the drive shaft is moving and the noise is at the gearbox/clutch end of the drive shaft where obviously something is slipping that should not be. (I still do not know the proper names for the all gearbox and related components of the clutch)

Does this sound like the clutch hub/shaft spline issue? What do I need to do? Check? Replace? at this point.

I have the CD shop manual, should I continue under the "remove clutch" procedures?

Thanks in advance for any advice, I feel that I have bitten off a lot to chew, but I cannot afford dealer repair at this time.

Sorry you had to find us this way, but welcome on board.

It does sound like splie failure. If you can turn the clutch through the starter appature it is definite. Keep going with the 'replace clutch' procedure. You will probably also have to strip the gearbox to replace the input shaft.

It is a big job but tackled methodically it is not too difficult to get down to the clutch - just slow.