IGNORED

The Road to Fruition: UN V & Beyond (long w/ pix)

Joel

Here goes another rambling installment. If you’d rather just see pictures (some of which are not included in this tale), go here. I’ve also got a video slideshow pending, awaiting the go-ahead from its host. I’ll post a link to that later.

I’m still learning the skill of keeping life in balance. Lately, it seemed I’d forgotten that even if I was moving up in the rat race, I’d still be a rat. I’ve written before that thumbing the starter of a motorcycle can be like hitting the “reset” button on life. I needed a reset.

When I thumbed Big Muddy’s starter on Saturday afternoon, I got an unexpected result: nothing but clicks. The battery was fully charged, and I’d just given Heidi a ride to the storage lot where the Team Schnauzer Tour Bus hibernates. I usually hold my breath a little hoping the Bus starts up after a layoff. Now, here I was in front of the Bus, confounded by my 9-month old bike’s failure to start while the Bus was idling away. Fortunately, there was time enough in the day to fetch the trailer and haul Big Muddy in to Northern Colorado BMW Ducati. They promptly diagnosed the starter motor’s failure. With some manual rotation it could be made to work again, but it could also fail again. My choices were to have it replaced, which meant waiting until Tuesday a.m. (the part wasn’t in stock, and the dealership is closed on Mondays), or risk a breakdown during our 2-week trip. I made the safe choice. We went home to get the Bus loaded so that Heidi and the K9 crew could still leave on Monday. I’d catch up on Tuesday.

I didn’t relish the chance to be a rat for another day, but a few work chores weren’t done. Heidi and the K9s pulled away from HQ around midday on Monday and I got back to work. The Team, minus one co-captain, had a warm but uneventful trip to Gunnison and set up camp at the KOA.